‘Super Jupiter’ Dwarfs Solar System’s Largest Planet

‘Super Jupiter’ Dwarfs Solar System’s Largest Planet.

I love this article especially because it features a real photo of a planet 170 light years from Earth.  Computer images of distant planets are abundant but to see a photo that actually represents the planet (bright blurb at ~ 10 o’ clock, next to black circle with plus sign which is the star of this system) is a real treat.  When I try to contemplate planets orbiting other stars my first thought is ‘I wanna see it!’  My second thought now is ‘I wanna show my students!’

bright blob at roughly 10 o’clock is an actual photo of a planet orbiting a star 2.5 times the mass of our Sun located approx 170 light years from earth!

One thought on “‘Super Jupiter’ Dwarfs Solar System’s Largest Planet

  1. I love how excited seeing this picture makes you! Space has always amazed me, probably because I can’t really visualize the vastness of it. Being able to see a picture of even a piece of what is out there somehow makes it more real to me.

Leave a Reply

